skip navigation

Ten Former Players on 2021 NHL Opening Rosters

By Stampede Media, 01/13/21, 12:45PM CST


Includes two Clark Cup champions and an Anderson Cup champion

SIOUX FALLS, S.D.  – The Sioux Falls Stampede are represented by ten former players on National Hockey League opening night rosters as the shortened 2021 season begins tonight.

The list includes forward and former 2015 Clark Cup champion Logan O’Connor for the Colorado Avalanche and forward T.J. Oshie on the Washington Capitals. Defensemen Jordan Oesterle and Alex Goligoski are representing on the Arizona Coyotes roster, while Jamie Oleksiak will start for the Dallas Stars and Chad Ruhwedel on the Pittsburgh Penguins.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, forwards Kyle Rau with the Minnesota Wild and 2015 Clark Cup champion Kieffer Bellows for the New York Islanders and defenseman and former 2005-06 Anderson Cup champion Nate Prosser for the Philadelphia Flyers are available on the newly formed taxi squad. Goaltender Mikhail Berdin has also been added to represent on the Winnipeg Jets. The supplemental squad allows for an additional four to six extra skaters to be activated to the lineup in the event of a positive test.

Sixteen different former members of Sioux Falls were invited to participate in training camps across 14 NHL clubs.

Arizona Coyotes – Alex Goligoski (D) and Jordan Oesterle (D)
Boston Bruins – Jeremy Swayman (G)
Colorado Avalanche – Logan O’Connor (F)
Dallas Stars – Jamie Oleksiak (D)
Edmonton Oilers – Cooper Marody (F)
Los Angeles Kings – Mikey Eyssimont (F)
Minnesota Wild – Kyle Rau (F)
Montreal Canadiens – Charlie Lindgren (G)
New York Islanders – Kieffer Bellows (F)
Philadelphia Flyers – Nate Prosser (D)
Pittsburgh Penguins – Chad Ruhwedel (D)
San Jose Sharks – Lean Bergmann (F)
Washington Capitals – T.J. Oshie (F)
Winnipeg Jets – C.J. Suess (F) and Mikhail Berdin (G)